documenting my van life

makoto
2 min readJan 24, 2021

--

A tad late to the new year’s resolution party, but for mine I have decided to open up a Medium account and start logging my van life.

And why? Here are a few reasons why (and I might add a few more as I go).

  • it just sounds fun and others that are doing it look like they are having a sweet time, and
  • I have an ultra-unrealistic expectation that this blog will be all spiritual and shit with me spitting jaw-dropping life analogies left and right, and
  • its 2021 and Sir COVID-19 has not yet surrendered and I might soon die of loneliness before I catch the virus and this activity feels somewhat therapeutic (sort of like that feeling of turning off airplane mode after just a 2-hour flight and you are reconnected to your social circle digitally with a mere 5 Instagram scrolls).

So a little about me and my, soon to be fucking EPIC, van life.

my van and I

I’m 26, relatively nice dude, living solo in an apartment in Tokyo. I like to surf and do outdoor stuff. And I bought a used Nissan Caravan for 1.05 million yen (which equates to roughly 10,100 USD) two months ago to start this adventure. I don’t actually live in the van nor do I intend to but this still counts as van life, no? I bought the van because I like building stuff and I want to travel and surf parts of Japan I have not yet visited.

But I must be honest and admit that I’ve never been more than a happy birthday wisher on Facebook when it comes to digital content curation so let’s see how long this lasts.

And finally, for my inaugural post, I think it will wise to set some ground rules moving forward.

The rules of this blog is as follows.

  • As the great Michael Scott once told his padawan Dwight Schrute, I will make sure to KISS (Keep It Simple, Stupid). No lengthy articles.
  • Be honest with the content and no fake news.
  • Its okay for posts to not be informative and non-van related but no meaningless rants because no one fucking cares.
  • Be descriptive (pictures, drawings, links, and videos are all highly encouraged) since there is, hopefully, a reader or two at the other end of this thing.
  • Proofread out loud before I publish.

And so here I go. Wish me luck!

--

--

makoto
0 Followers

surfing, soul music, general outdoors. Opened Medium to document my go at van life!